It’s the Law! According to New York State Department of Health all dogs must be licensed.
New York State law requires that all owned dogs be licensed and the New York City Health Code §161.04 require every dog owner to have a dog license tag attached to their dog’s collar while in public. Dog owners may be fined for violation of these laws.
If you live in one of the five boroughs of New York City, call 311 to have an NYC dog license application mailed to you or download it here.
Dog owners may also apply and make payment online for a new dog license or renew an existing one.
What Dogs Must Be Licensed?
Every dog, regardless of age, owned or harbored in New York State for longer than 30 days must be licensed in the town, city or village where the dog is being harbored. The following are the only license exemptions:
- if the dog is under four months of age and not running-at-large (off the owner’s premises)
- dogs harbored in New York City (these dogs must be licensed by the NYC Department of Health)
- if a non-resident brings a dog into New York State for less than 30 days and the dog is licensed according to the resident
state’s licensing laws
- dogs confined to the premises of any public or private hospital, research institution or a Class A Dealer with a certificate of
exemption from the Commissioner.
For more information on obtaining a license in New York City click here.