Illegal Pets in New York City

By law, wild or illegal animals may not be sold or kept as pets.  The following animals may not be kept as pets:

  • Wolf, fox, coyote, hyena, dingo, jackal, other undomesticated dogs
  • Lion, tiger, leopard, jaguar, puma, panther, mountain lion, cheetah, cougar, bobcat, lynx, other undomesticated cats
  • Ferret, weasel, mink, badger, wolverine, skunk, mongoose
  • Squirrel, raccoon, bat
  • Bear, elephant, zebra, rhinoceros, giraffe, hippopotamus
  • Tarantula, black widow, other venomous spiders
  • Iguana, gila monster, many other lizards
  • Monkey, ape, chimpanzee, gorilla
  • Viper, cobra, python, anaconda, many other snakes
  • Alligator, crocodile, snapping turtle, other turtles less than 4 inches in length
  • Eagle, hawk, falcon, owl, vulture, emu, ostrich, other large or predatory birds
  • Rooster, duck, goose, turkey
  • Bee (other than a honeybee), hornet, wasp, other venomous insects
  • Gopher, woodchuck, beaver, hedgehog, porcupine, other large rodents
  • Deer, antelope, llama, camel
  • Sheep, goat, pigs, and most farm animals
  • Kangaroo, opossum, koala, other marsupials
  • Dolphin, whale, seal, sea lion, walrus, other sea mammals